Final Images – Headdresses (LO1)

This shoot is the culmination of all my practical and theoretical research so far. In these images my intention was to symbolize my internal emotions through an external object, thus making the object a metaphor of my feelings. For the external object I chose to use headwear. Prompted by my research I had been looking towards historical art portraits for composition and subject content ideas, and noted how headwear played a significant role within may of them. Within historical art headwear was key as it acted as indicator to the subjects social standing, or role within the house or community. Headwear was obligatory within most social situation and therefore less of a representation of a persons emotions but rather a forces statement of their social role. However when I considered headwear within our current society I realized that predominantly it is used only to make a personal statement as it has become less popular within uniforms or forced clothes wear. Therefore I felt it was an appropriate choice when choosing an object to represent an emotional state.

 

I planned three shoots based on three different emotions; Purity, Anxiety and Shattered. For each I wanted the context to be minimal, with the focus of the image to be the headwear and myself. To ensure this I decided to shoot all of them in a studio setting.

PSprofiled_Purity-0052v3_800px

The first image I shot was for Purity. For this I knew I wanted high key lighting, taking inspiration from Joel Grimes’s white portraits. I chose to wear a band of Orchids because of their association with delicate beauty, special occasions, rarity and healing powers. I then chose the willow branches because of their association with femininity and healing. As I wanted to create an ethereal feel I had seen in may historical art pieces, I decided to use the willow branches in a way that created the suggestion of wings, hence connoting light, innocence and purity and heaven. I shot various poses for this images but the final one I chose, I felt best signified the essence of the emotion. In postproduction a slight texture was added to the image, as with them all, to create a painterly look. However I’m not sure that really comes a cross in this image. Overall thought I am pleased with this image, although in reflection I feel if the lighting was softer and directional it would create a more classical fine art feel to the image.

PSprofiled_DSC_0168v4_12x16_800px

The second shoot was for Anxiety. For this I wanted the headwear to represent the dark cloud that is visually associated with representations of depressions and anxiety. With my body I wanted to show the strain these emotions can have. To do this I created more structured poses and used my hands and arms to show the tension within the body. I also chose to shoot the image with no clothes on top to represent how exposed and venerable you can feel in these situations. Flagged side lighting was used to create shadows with a beauty dish in front to pick out the skin tones and details. In postproduction I added a texture after cleaning the image and skin smoothing. Overall I was very pleased with this image. I knew it was dark but felt it was bight enough to see the details in the skin tone and body. I purposely chose to keep it this way as it was aesthetically right for the images meaning. I also felt this image was the closest to creating a fine art painterly look.

PSprofiled_Shattered-0086v5_12x16_800px

 

The third shoot was for Shattered. For this shoot I decided to make a crown from shattered glass. Although using the class could be alleged as a too literal interpretation of the title I felt having it take the form of a crown opened up more questions within the image creating additional narrative. The crown could be preserved as connoting links to regal qualities such as status, power and the burned of responsibilities. Or it could be seen as symbolizing links to religion and Jesus crown of thorns. Ultimately it would be the viewer whose own experience would interpret it, but I felt it certainly suggested, with the position of the head facing downwards, adverse emotions, as was meant to be implied. As with the previous two I added a texture at the end to finish the look. Overall I was extremely happy with this image. I felt it was the strongest out of the three both aesthetically and technically and I feel this was due to it being the third shoot, as I learned from each one.

 

Although individually I am happy with all three images, as a set believe they do not work. Shattered and Purity could work together, however Anxiety is conceptually too different it fit in. Whereas with the other two the headwear is clearly be worn and my own hair can be seen, with Anxiety the black material looks like a wig, and therefore, for me, implied I’m dressing up as someone else. Also the nudity and body positioning seem to point the image much more towards fine art than the other two, which feel closer to commercial portraiture, although this was never my intention. Going forward I will take these observations and lesson’s on board. I feel I have learned a lot through these shoots and will be able to apply this learning to my future photographs.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment